Which communities are part of the Windigo Education Authority?

Map of Communities









The four First Nations that are members of the W.E.A. have similarities and differences. All the communities are small, isolated reserves accessible only by daily scheduled flights (or charters), or by winter road during February and March. The first language of the communities is Ojibway or Oji-Cree.

In 1988, the three First Nations of Bearskin Lake, Cat Lake and Sachigo Lake took over control of education programs from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada. At that time, Windigo Education Authority was formed to provide the opportunity for collaborative decision-making. Local education authorities were established and have developed over the past 17 years. Slate Falls Nation joined the W.E.A. in 1997.